Couponing Stigma

12 07 2011

I had always heard that cashiers are unfriendly to coupons but had yet to experience it myself. UNTIL I went to Safeway on 99 for a few groceries.

So here I am, standing in line, waiting for the cashier and customer to finish up their conversation so I can get the eff out of there (I have a tendency to pass out standing in grocery store lines, no joke..). The cashier was a real chatty-Kathy so I figured I had picked a good line with a friendly person. There happened to be a kid behind me buying beer so I let him go first since he had one thing. Good couponing karma, right? Ugh. So when it was my turn (AFTER the kid neglected to see my belly and asked if I wanted a beer to thank me for letting him go first, lol) I put my groceries on the belt and she rang me up.. When I handed her my coupons, which was NOT many, maybe 10? she sighed and told everyone else in line THAT HAD ALREADY PUT ALL THEIR GROCERIES ON THE BELT that I had coupons and it was going to take a while! She then told them they could either pick out a magazine to read or go to another line … WTF… I felt bad (not really embarrassed, surprisingly) so I kept apologizing to the ladies behind me. Luckily, she was a couponer back home and was out of town so didn’t bring her coupons, so she understood! Her daughter even said to the (rude) cashier, “don’t you just have to scan coupons?” Ha, that’s what we thought. She pulled the pen from behind her ear and matched up everything in my bags to the coupon.. In the midst of it, she had hoisted my sodas onto the counter, seeming like it was hard. I made a joke about getting her exercise for the day ..she rudely replied, “uh yeah, times 100 customers.” Ugh, little pieces of negativity really urk me. Was that necessary to say? No. Anyway, while she was matching up my coupons, one didn’t work so I apologized and put it back in my purse. I casually explained to her that there are two kinds of coupons and the one I used was notorious for not being compatible with all systems (PDF’s). She then offered up that it could be faked. That Safeway has had so many fake coupons lately they were tightening up their policy. Really lady ..are you implying that I forged a $1 off 2 sponges coupon? If I were going to fake coupons I would make them better! It’s ridiculous to think about, faking coupons. We couponers already work hard to match up our coupons and sales ..who has time for that crap. In my purchase I had 2 packs of toothbrushes for P, cuz he seems to lose them all the time. The coupon I had made them free since they were on sale. She told me that she would have to adjust the coupon since they were a PENNY less than the coupon stated. I said oh yeah, of course. She then told me she wasn’t going to PAY ME (2 cents, mind you) for buying toothbrushes….. Yeah, 2 cents is 2 cents I GUESS but did she need to tell me she wasn’t going to pay me? Pay me? Wow, what a payday. So at that point, I stopped trying to make conversation with her, as she clearly felt I was the worst person ever. While she was matching my coupons, she told someone on the phone she had a couponer and was gonna be up there a while. Again, necessary? It was HER fault it was taking so long. She wouldn’t let me use a few coupons because she was an idiot and couldn’t calculate in her head but at that point I would have rather paid full price. Ugh so when she was finally done, she put my sodas in my cart and said, “If I had kids, I would tell them to be a dentist because all of the soda and sugar people are buying these days.” HA!

I am usually really good at remembering people’s names but I forget hers. It wasn’t till after the fact that I thought I should leave a comment card or something. She was very rude, when I was cheery and very friendly.

I went back to that Safeway (mistakenly giving them another chance) and had another bad experience. It’s a longer (really..) story but ended up having an awesome supervisor fix the incompetent cashiers mistakes, so I wasn’t as irritated as the first time.

We often get cashiers who think couponers are a big hassle, but don’t say anything. And then there are the ones, like our friend at Target and Alb’s that think couponing is amazing. I honestly don’t see why it has to be such a hassle.. What’s more of a hassle is figuring out how you are going to stretch your food budget for the month. We have a $200 budget, which is actually A LOT. I have spent less than $100 and we’re 2 weeks in. We never really have to worry about food. .we can save money for better things ..like those vacations we take once or twice a year 🙂

But yes, some people misuse coupons but there are so many more out there that don’t, like me. I don’t have time or the balls to do so. I get anxious when they scan my coupons that are legit! Ugh.

So anyway, I figured since this is my blog, it was a good place to vent the irritations I have. Terrible cashiers along with EMPTY SHELVES is almost enough to burn me out. Almost. Then I realize how GREAT couponing is and jump back on the wagon.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

